orangeroots

Brit Invasion

Two

Okay, so it took me a while to post another blog. Apologies. But time = drama. And what drama I’ve had.

I’m home in England for winter break (Christmas holidays, everything in brackets is the British phrasal equivalent – just a heads up, American fellows), coming into contact with devastating rain storms, enjoying a lot of what my American friends would call “driving stick” (driving a manual car), and refilling the hotwater bottle at least seven times a day.

Jet lag more than ruined my life last Sunday but we won’t get into that, instead I’ll talk about my week visiting uni friends in Canterbury. I took along Peter The Anteater, the UCI mascot and he had a wild time, here’s the evidence:

And there you have it, Peter anteating his way through Canterbury and the surrounding area.

In other news, I got a new car: a Mini Cooper. Yep, very British and very cool. Her name is Jill – after the erotic novelist, Jilly Cooper. Who else would you want to name a vehicle after?! She is a babe of a car, unfortunately no photographs have been taken in her short life thus far but there will be some in the future, never you fear!

The last week of Winter Quarter at UCI is a painful one. As all Americans (and very few Britons) know, the last week of a Quarter, Semester or Term is called Finals Week.

This is a devastatingly horrendous week filled with exams, term papers and coffee. More coffee than the usual 5 or 6 a day. If you are to encounter Finals Week in your life do not expect a) sleep, or b) a balanced diet. In fact, any food at all is a bonus. To encourage us further into an academic whirlwind of panic the sororities and fraternities paste every inch of blank space along the walls of the footpaths with notions of good luck. Now, I’m not a student who has ever felt particularly stressed or had an overwhelming feeling of panic over an upcoming exam but everyone casually chatting about Finals in a pseudo-carefree way can have an enormous effect on an individual such as myself.

But enough about that, it’s all about the end of term party that comes as reward. This part of Finals Week is not just restricted to American students, every country has surely experienced this. It’s the idea of drinking excessively and partying hard. But it always fails… to a degree. One goes into these situations expecting their lives to be turned upside down, for destiny to intervene and make magic happen. But that almost never happens. Instead, you’ll end up going to a dismal gathering, drinking excessively just for something to do and partying becomes harder. This was kind of how our night panned out, we did the classic OC night, hanging out at the lifeguard hut on Newport Beach and ending up at a random Christmas sweater (jumper) party. A typical way to end your first quarter at UCI.

In other news, I’m broadening my music tastes. Well, maybe I’m just delving further into my favourite British music acts than I have previously done. These acts are mostly Rizzle Kicks, Stornoway, Snow Patrol and Ed Sheeran. You will most likely have heard of Snow Patrol because of their famous single: Chasing Cars. Rizzle Kicks are my favourite Brightonian act since The Kooks, a cheeky pair of lads who rap over remixes of Jessie J, Arctic Monkeys and Ed Sheeran. Of course, they produce tracks of their own, these are the ones that got them to the dizzy heights of musician royalty. Ed Sheeran has become the most popular musician of 2011 in England, a man America needs to get to get cosy with immediately. Last but not least, Stornoway. A band formed entirely of Oxford graduates who are close friends with my best friend’s sister. They produce a raw, folky sound that  fits perfectly with every mood and season.

Rizzle Kicks: Harley and Sylvester x

Stornoway. Playing football with a baked potato?

Ed Sheeran - second fave ginge x

Snow Patrol have never released an album I haven't loved ❤

So that’s been me for the past few weeks. I know it’snot wholly informative but I didn’t want to bore the chickens off you! If I don’t post before Christmas then have a good one my loves! x

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

