orangeroots

Brit Invasion

Seven

Okay, so I finally have time to update this!

If you have seen me over the past few weeks I most probably will not have made much sense, my physical appearance would have been rather disheveled and I would have been snowed under with uni work (sorry, homework). But I’ve still found time to have fun, namely in desert form. Death Valley. Yes, it warrants its own sentence because it is truly delectable.

So, you know I said Venice Beach was magical. Death Valley is even more magical, well maybe they’re equal in volume of magical-ness but they’re different kinds of awesome. If that makes sense. Death Valley… What to say? There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe my experience. Here are a few that only partly sum up the experience: mystical, enchanting, enthralling, captivating, awe-inspiring, barren… I could fill this page with appropriate verbs but I won’t. You must go. Death Valley is the most appropriate phrase that could be attributed to it, because it is truly a barren land full of many delightful crevices, incredible views and incomprehensible stories. It’s no wonder people who live in the desert go crazy, it’s a strange silence that fills such a vast space and I’m not sure I could handle it. Before going we expressed our excitement to a few Americans who were divided on the subject. Some warned us of a terrible disappointment, telling us not to expect much. And others became overwhelmingly excited for our forthcoming adventure. After experiencing it I fall into the latter opinion. I’d go again, and again… and again. It’s just… I can’t write any more on the subject, my brain will wonder and I’ll be rendered a mute schizophrenic if I continue.

Moving on. That was the highlight of the past few weeks, if I’m honest. However, little surprises have come our way. Mostly in the fors of planning ahead. Our Spring Break plans are coming together quite substantially, and our plans for the next two weeks are gathering stallion-like speed.

Last night, however, we went to see the long-overdue Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. Now, here’s the thing, this film came out in the UK last summer so I should have seen it by now, but it has only graced American shores for the past two months so I have a semi-excuse. The film is magnificent. It’s a thinker (or a tinker…?). The cast is superb: Gary Oldman, Colin Firth, Tom Hardy, John Hurt, Benedict Cumberbatch, Mark Strong… Basically, the best of the British male acting clan. Being British myself I also spied a few television favourites of mine. Trigger from Only Fools and Horses featured heavily, the scouser skinhead from This Is England also had a part, as well as my favourite character from the TV drama ‘Waterloo Road’: Grantley Budgen, as I know him. Of course, not many people outside of England will know who I’m talking about so I’ll move swiftly on. The film was so articulate and delicate in it’s story telling, I either have to watch it again (with notebook and pen in hand) or read the novel (John le Carre) because I need to know what was going on!

The next two weeks will provide far more exciting adventures for you chickens, so hold your nerve!

Oh, and it got Best British Film award at the BAFTAs. Take that America!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

